Short News Archive - 2019

May 30, 2019
Tilottama Mazumdar recipient of the FEMS Microbiology Ecology Poster Prize
On the occation of the 15th Symposium on Bacterial Genetics and Ecology in Lisbon, Portugal, May 26-30, 2019, the Federation of European Microbiological Sciences (FEMS) awarded IMPRS student Tilottama Mazumdar from Wilhelm Boland's Emeritus Group Bioorganic Chemistry the FEMS Microbiology Ecology Poster Prize. She presented her current research on "Stress survival strategies of the dominating bacteria Enterococcus mundtii in the gut of Spodoptera littoralis".

May 28, 2019
Tag der Vielfalt - Diversity @ MPI-CE
On May 28, 2019, Germany will celebrate the 7th Diversity Day.  Co-workers in our institute are diverse in many ways. Diversity is a precious treasure. We would like to portrait five members of our institute this week to show the diversity in our institute, which is the breeding ground for intercultural exchange and successful scientific collaboration ...  more »

© Sebastian Reuter

May 7, 2019
Sarah O‘Connor receives the Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry
As the Royal Society of Chemistry announced, Sarah O’Connor, the new director of the Department of Natural Product Biosynthesis, will be awarded the renowned Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry. The Society thereby honors her achievement in elucidating the biosynthetic pathways of complex organic compounds in plants. Many secondary plant compounds are interesting and promising medical agents. For instance, Sarah O’Connor also studies the biosynthesis of vincristine, an anti-cancer drug, which is produced by Madagascar periwinkle. She is proud to be the first woman to receive this prestigious chemistry award. The Perkin Prize, which particularly appreciated the originality and impact of research works, is endowed with 5,000 pounds.

March 21, 2019
Marie Pauline Sell, Nathalie Lackus, Benjamin Bartels, Anja Meents, Christin Uhe and Martin Hoffmann winners of the IMPRS travel awards
During the 18th IMPRS Symposium in Dornburg, Marie Pauline Sell (best poster: ""Effects of the main secondary metabolites of Physalis plants on a specialist and a generalist species of Lepidoptera"), Nathalie Lackus (best talk: "At the edge: How the macronutrient sulfate is used to modify the secondary metabolites salicin and salirepin in poplar"), Benjamin Bartels (best talk: "Mass spectrometry imaging on plants - the ups and downs of method development"), Anja Meents (best talk: "Plants vs. fungi? – How fungal infection alters auxin levels in Arabidopsis roots"), Christin Uhe (best poster: "Beetle-induced plant response leads to a shift in feeding preference of Lymantria dispar caterpillar") and Martin Hoffmann (best poster: "Towards FDR estimation in computational metabolomics")  received the IMPRS travel awards for the best presentations.

Marie Pauline Sell, Nathalie Lackus, Benjamin Bartels, Anja Meents, Christin Uhe and Martin Hoffmann (from left to right).