Short News Archive - 2013

December 11, 2013
Prix Nexans 2013 awarded to Matthias Erb
Matthias Erb, head of the Research Group Root-Herbivore Interactions, received the prestigious Prix Nexans from the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland. The prize, endowed with 20.000 Swiss francs, was awarded to him in a ceremony at the end of the symposium "Advances in Swiss research on the chemical ecology of plant defences" on December 10, 2013. In February 2014, the young researcher, who had earned his doctor's degree at the University of Neuchâtel in record time and received a Marie Curie Fellowship from the European Commission, will take over a professorship at the University of Bern. 

October 14, 2013
Peter Biedermann received the Klaus Tschira Award for Achievements in Public Understanding of Science
The Klaus Tschira Foundation awarded Peter Biedermann the Klaus Tschira Award 2013 in Biology. The scientist from the Max Planck Research Group Insect Symbiosis received his PhD in 2012. He now summarized his research, which focuses on the evolution of social life in Ambrosia beetles, in a generally understandable article to be published in the supplement of the magazine "Bild der Wissenschaft", KlarText!. The award, endowed with 5000 EUR, supports outstanding junior scientists who are successful in making their research findings accessible to a lay audience and hereby increase a public appreciation of science.
more »

September 23, 2013
Zwillenberg-Tietz-Stiftung funds PhD project at the MPI for Chemical Ecology
The Zwillenberg Tietz Foundation supports Raimund Nagel's PhD project under the supervision of Jonathan Gershenzon and Axel Schmidt in the Department of Biochemistry. It is focused on conifer defense strategies against pests. Raimund Nagel is studying whether plant secondary metabolites increase the resistance of spruce and pine against bark beetles or moths.
Link to the project

June 7, 2013
Meredith Schuman received Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society
During the Annual Meeting of the Max Planck Society, held on June 5-6, 2013, in Potsdam, Meredith Schuman was awarded the Otto Hahn Medal. This prize is awarded for the best dissertations during the last year. The topic of her outstanding PhD thesis in the Department of Molecular Ecology (Ian T. Baldwin) was "The response of Nicotiana attenuata plants to herbivory: polymorphism and functions in nature"
more »

April 30, 2013
Ian Baldwin elected member of the National Academy of Sciences (NAS)
During the 150th Annual Meeting on Monday, April 29, 2013, the National Academy of Sciences, the most prestigious scientific organization in the United States of America, announced the election of new members; among them is Ian Baldwin, head of the Department of Molecular Ecology. The NAS membership recognizes distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

March 23, 2013
Best Poster Award to Laura Flórez and and Best Talk Award to Hassan Salem at Evolutionary Biology Meeting in Göttingen

At the Evolutionary Biology Meeting of the German Zoological Society, held March 22-23, 2013 in Göttingen, Laura Flórez received the best poster award for her presentation entitled: "Burkholderia as insect endosymbionts: the fully equipped bacterial partners of Lagria hirta tenebrionid beetles". Hassan Salem was awarded a prize for the best talk on "Detailing the symbiotic contributions of Actinobacteria towards firebugs". Both are PhD students in the Max Planck Research Group Insect Symbiosis headed by Martin Kaltenpoth.

March 22, 2013
Poster prize for
Anja Strauß at Gordon Research Conference in USA
Anja Strauß from the Department of Bioorganic Chemistry (Prof. Boland) received a prize for one of the best posters at the Gordon Research Conference "Multi-Drug Efflux Systems" in Ventura, CA, USA, March 17-22, 2013. Her poster was entitled: "Beetle juice strategy: ABC transporter acts as a gatekeeper while unifying sequestration and active defense."

March 21, 2013
Reinhold von Sengbusch Poster Award for Martin Schäfer
Martin Schäfer from the Department of Molecular Ecology received one of the Reinhold von Sengbusch Poster Awards during the 26th Conference of Molecular Biology of Plants, February 26 - March 1, 2013, Dabringhausen (under the patronage of the German Botanical Society). The prize was awarded for his poster entitled "The role of cytokinins in herbivore defense responses of Nicotiana attenuata", co-authored by Christoph Brütting, Ivan David Meza Canales, Klaus Gase, Radka Vanková, Ian Baldwin and Stefan Meldau.

March 21, 2013
How Carnivorous Plants Capture Prey
SCIENCEshot: A complex chemical system is involved when sundew leaves curl up to digest a catch (Proc. Royal Soc. B, March 2013) more »

February 26, 2013
Scholarship from the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region awarded to Ayufu Yilamujiang
Ayufu Yilamujiang, PhD student in the Department of Bioorganic Chemistry, received a scholarship from the Department of Education of the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region for self-financed students studying abroad. He was selected for his outstanding achievements during his Biochemistry studies at Friedrich Schiller University and at the MPI-CE in Jena.