News Archive - 2012

February 21, 2012
Katrin Friedemann
and Michael Thoma received the IMPRS Presentation Awards 2012
Michael Thoma (Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology, MPI-CE) was awarded the prize for the best talk at the 11th Symposium of the International Max Planck Research School "The Exploration of Ecological Interactions with Molecular and Chemical Techniques". The topic of his talk was "A certain shade of green – the role of adaptation in Drosophila olfaction".
Katrin Friedemann (Institute of Systematic Zoology & Evolutionary Biology, Friedrich Schiller University) received the award for the best poster entitled "Evolution of Attachment Structures in Acercaria".


April 19, 2012
MPI for Chemical Ecology founding member of the Jena Alliance for Integration
The founding ceremony of the Jena Alliance for Integration (Jenaer Integrationsbündnis) was held on April 19, 2012, in the old town hall in Jena. The goal of the alliance is supporting and organizing the integration of migrants in Jena in a sustainable, collaborative, and long-term effort. As a founding member, the MPI obliged to participate in this alliance and will continue its commitment for a cosmopolitan and tolerant Jena. 

April 19, 2012
Royal Entomological Society (RES) Journal Award for Yannick Pauchet
For his paper "Pyrosequencing the Manduca sexta larval midgut transcriptome: messages for digestion, detoxification and defence" (2010, Insect Molecular Biology, 19(1), pp. 61-75., co-authored with P. Wilkinson, H. Vogel, D. Nelson, S. Reynolds, D.G. Heckel, and R. H. ffrench-Constant), Yannick Pauchet receives the Best Paper Award for the best manuscript published in the RES journal  Insect Molecular Biology during 2010/2011.



June 25, 2012
Poster prize for Dorothea Meldau at New Phytologist Symposium in Rhodes
Dorothea Meldau, Department of Molecular Ecology, received the runners-up poster prize during the 28th New Phytologist Symposium "Functions and ecology of the plant microbiome" in Rhodes, Greece, May 18-21, 2012. Her poster was entitled: "The smelly road - how Bacillus sp. B55 promotes plant growth."

September 28, 2012
David G. Heckel on insecticide resistance 50 years after Silent Spring
(Science 337 no. 6102, Sept. 28, 2012)
50 years after Rachel Carson published her famous book Silent Spring, which marked the birth of the environmental movement, David G. Heckel provides an overview on the current state of resistances pest insects have developed against insecticides (SCIENCE, Vol. 337, 1621-1624, DOI: 10.1126/science.1226994).

October 15, 2012
Bill S. Hansson elected member of the Academia Europaea
Bill S. Hansson, director of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology and currently managing director of the MPI-CE, was elected member of the Academia Europaea. This European scientific academy was founded in 1988 by scientists from the UK, France, Italy, Sweden, Germany and the Netherlands as a pan-European body that could express the opinions and ideas of scientists from across Europe. The academy has more than 2000 members, including over 40 Nobel Laureates.

November 5, 2012
Christelle Robert received Award for Sustainable Development
Christelle Robert from the Department of Biochemistry, member of the Root-Herbivore Interactions Group, received the 2012 Sustainable Development Award from the University of Neuchâtel, Switzerland. This prize recognizes her outstanding PhD thesis on "The key to success: Host plant adaptations in the root herbivore Diabrotica virgifera virgifera" (supervisor: Prof. Ted Turlings; co-supervisor: Matthias Erb; project collaborator: Tobias Köllner).

November 30, 2012
Jonathan Gershenzon honored as AAAS Fellow
The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected Jonathan Gershenzon as an AAAS Fellow in the section of Biological Sciences. With this honor, the AAAS acknowledges his distinguished contributions to knowledge of the composition, ecological role and evolution of  plant defense compounds. The AAAS is the world's largest scientific society. It was founded in Pennsylvania in 1848. Since 1880, AAAS has been publishing the journal Science. 

December 3, 2012
Peter Biedermann receives Dr. Lutz Zwillenberg Prize
The University of Bern, Switzerland, awarded Peter Biedermann, postdoc in the Insect Symbiosis Group, the Dr. Lutz Zwillenberg Prize for his outstanding dissertation on the "Evolution of Cooperation in Ambrosia Beetles". The award remembers biologist Dr. Lutz O. Zwillenberg who died in December 2011.