Short News Archive - 2009

October 8, 2009
Janine Hofmann reiceived BIOTECHNICA Award
Janine Hofmann , PhD student in the Emmy Noether Group „Chemical Ecology of Actinomycetes“  (Dieter Spiteller), was awarded the  BIOTECHNICA-Studienpreis 2009 (2nd Prize) for her Diploma thesis "Characterization of  3-methylarginine biosynthesis cluster of Pseudomonas syringae pv. syringae 22d/93", which was co-supervised by Dieter Spiteller. The prize is announced by the Verband Biologie, Biowissenschaften und Biomedizin (VBIO e. V.) and sponsored by the Biotechnology company Roche.

August 21, 2009
Ian T. Baldwin presented Tansley Lecture

Ian T. Baldwin presented the Tansley Lecture at the Annual Meeting of the British Ecological Society , September 8-10, 2009, in Hatfield, Hertfordshire, UK. The lecture is named after the British plant ecologist and founder of the society Sir Arthur G. Tansley. The topic of the lecture is ‘Using Transformed Native Plants to study Ecological Interactions’. An eminent ecologist is chosen every two years by the council to address the society.

June 17, 2009
Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society awarded to  Shree Pandey

Shree Prakash Pandey was awarded the Otto Hahn Medal of the Max Planck Society for one of the best dissertations in 2008. The topic of his PhD project in the Department of Molecular Ecology (Ian T. Baldwin) was "The role of small RNAs in regulating stress-induced responses in Nicotiana attenuata". Dr. Pandey, who was also awarded the Beutenberg Campus Prize  in April 2009,  is currently doing research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston, MA, USA.

March 25, 2009
Letterstedt Prize for Bill S. Hansson

Bill S. Hansson, director of the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology,  will be awarded the Letterstedt Prize of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for excellent research in the area of "insect olfactory function and its significance for odor-guided behavior including the elucidation of molecular transduction mechanisms underlying odor perception."