Short News Archive - 2008

June 25, 2008
Jianqiang Wu and Margit Leitner receive Otto Hahn Medal of the MPG

Jianqiang Wu from the Department of Molecular Ecology received the prize for his molecular studies of trypsin proteinase inhibitor defense mechanism and herbivory-induced signaling in Nicotiana. Margit Leitner from the Department of Bioorganic Chemistry was granted the medal for her research on Medicago truncatula. In her dissertation thesis she compared the plant’s induced defense responses to different biotic challenges, such as herbivore attacks. Each year the MPG honors the best junior scientists and researchers for their outstanding achievements in their Ph.D. projects.

February 26, 2008
Tobias Kaiser and Katharina Schramm received the  IMPRS Presentation Awards 2008

Katharina Schramm (Department of Biochemistry) was awarded the prize for the best talk at the annual symposium of the International Max Planck Research School "The Exploration of Ecological Interations with Molecular and Chemical Techniques". Her topic was "How special is general? Detoxification of isothiocyanates by glutathione-S-transferases in Spodoptera littoralis". Tobias Kaiser (Department of Entomology) received the award for the best poster entitled "High moon. Lunar entrainment in Clunio marinus". Congratulations!