© Jenny Svennås-Gillner, SLU

October 7, 2016
Bill S. Hansson received an honorary doctorate from SLU
The Faculty of Landscape Architecture, Horticulture and Crop Production Science of the Swedish University of Agricultural (SLU) Sciences in Alnarp, awarded Bill S. Hansson the honorary doctorate. Bill Hansson was Professor of Chemical Ecology at SLU in Alnarp from 2001–2007 before he was recruited to head the Department of Evolutionary Neuroethology at the Max Planck institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena. During his leadership at Alnarp, the chemical ecology research team grew considerably as did its international status. He has "put and will put SLU and the subject of chemical ecology on the scientific world map, now and in the future" the motivation reads (see also SLU Press Release).

June 13, 2016
"Jugend forscht": Students successful with project supervised by MPI-CE scientists
Florian Albert, Dustin Beyer and Daniel Körsten, three senior class students at the Goethe-Gymnasium/Rutheneum seit 1608 in Gera, participated successfully in the  "Jugend forscht" competition. Their project on the vinegar fly Drosophila melanogaster and the construction of an effective fly trap ("Bananen bevorzugt: Schluss mit Obstfliegen – Konstruktion einer leistungsstarken Fliegenfalle") reached the Germany-wide final. Congratulations!!!

June 10, 2016
Alan Roy Katritzky Prize of the Friedrich Schiller University Jena awarded to Guillermo H. Jiménez-Alemán
Guillermo H. Jiménez-Alemán, who is currently a postdoc in the Department of Bioorganic Chemistry, will receive the Alan Roy Katritzky Prize the University of Jena awards to young chemists for outstanding scientific achievements in organic chemistry.  He finished his dissertation on the "Synthesis of jasmonates and derivatives to study plant signaling: Activation, translocation and shutdown mechanisms" earlier this year. Alan Roy Katritzky (1928-2014), after whom the award is named, was one of the most eminent organic chemists worldwide and was well-known for his work in heterocyclic chemistry. He received the honorary doctorate from the Friedrich Schiller University in 2007. The prize in honor of this extraordinary scientist is endowed with 1.000 EUR.

May 31, 2016
ETH Zurich Postdoctoral Fellowship for Glen D'Souza
Glen D'Souza, who did his PhD in the VW Research Group Experimental Ecology and Evolution under the supervision of Christian Kost, was awarded a prestigious postdoctoral fellowship from the ETH Zurich. The funding will support his postdoctoral work in the Molecular Microbial Ecology Group of Prof. Martin Ackermann at the ETH Zurich and at EAWAG (the Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science and Technology) for two years. His research will focus on understanding the roles of environmental and phenotypic heterogeneity on the emergence on metabolic interactions within microbial communities in nature. The ETH Zurich Postdoctoral Fellowship Program is co-funded by the EU Commission in the framework of FP7 Marie Curie Actions.

May 10, 2016
International Ellis Island Medal of Honor awarded to Bill Hansson
In a festive ceremony on May 7, 2016, Bill S. Hansson received the International Ellis Island Medal of Honor on Ellis Island, in New York. Ellis Island Medals of Honor, which were established in 1986 by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO), are officially recognized by the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives; each year the recipients are listed in the Congressional Records.
more »



March 30, 2016
Scholarship prize of the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region for Ayufu Yilamujiang
The Department of Education of the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, China,  awarded Ayufu Yilamujiang, PhD student in the project group Plant Defense Physiology of the Department of Bioorganic Chemistry, a scholarship prize for students studying abroad. He was selected for his outstanding achievements during his study in Germany since 2008 and for his research at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology.

March 8, 2016
Feodor Lynen Postdoctoral Fellowship for Hassan Salem
Hassan Salem from the Max Planck Research Group Insect Symbiosis received a prestigious Feodor Lynen Postdoctoral Fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The fellowship will provide funding for at least two years to work in Nicole Gerardo's lab at  Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, USA. The research will focus on genomic and metabolic determinants of parasite specialization in fungus-farming ants.

January 29, 2016
Stefan Pentzold receives a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship
Stefan Pentzold, who is a postdoc in the research group Chemical Defense of Leaf Beetles (headed by Antje Burse) successfully applied for a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship and will receive EU-funding within the framework of the Horizon 2020 program for the next two years. His project is called "ChemoSense - Elucidating the Mechanisms of Insect’s Chemical Taste to Understand Specific Host-Plant Selection". He will study poplar leaf beetles (Chrysomela populi), especially their gustatory receptors, and poplars by using transcriptomic sequencing, RNAi, heterologous expression, LC-MS, and other analytical techniques in order to find out how and why these herbivorous insects select their host plants.